#### Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4 Held on June 7, 2017

The thirty-fourth Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 7, 2017 at the CESA #4 Office, 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Temporary Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 7:04 p.m.

### Program: Cheryl Gullicksrud

Cheryl reviewed the history and creation of CESAs. Information on the background on where the CESA offices have been located over the years as well as the timeline on the current building and how it came to fruition. CESAs were developed to provide a support entity role between the Department of Public Instruction and the local public school districts. CESA #4 currently provides services and/or support in the five key areas: early education, educational technology/digital learning, instructional services, special education and collaborative/CESA wide services. Cheryl thanked the twenty-six school districts for their foresight in supporting the building project years ago.

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Alma – Dennis Hetrick Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan - Jim Wright Arcadia - Paul Servais Black River Falls - Mary Jo Rozmenoski Blair-Taylor – Perry Kujak Cashton - David Amundson Cochrane-Fountain City – Larry Cyrus Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Don Lanik Hillsboro – Lindsay O'Hair Holmen - Kate Mayer Independence – Charles Walek La Crosse – Dawn Comeau La Farge – Shawn Sedgwick Melrose-Mindoro – Marlane Anderson Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton - Kevin Bauman Sparta – Joan Cook Tomah – John McMullen West Salem - Jane Halverson Whitehall – George Everson

# Absent:

Bangor – Julie Meyers De Soto – Jess Boardman Onalaska – Jim Driscoll Royall – Ryan McKittrick Viroqua – Marina Abt Westby – Gerald Roethel Wonewoc-Union Center – Melanie Benson

Also Present: Cheryl Gullicksrud and Michelle Kotek

### Nominations for Convention Chairperson

Jane Halverson nominated David Amundson as chairperson. Kevin Bauman seconded the nomination. Don Lanik moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for David Amundson. Mary Jo Rozmenoski seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Jane Halverson moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Jim Wright seconded the motion. Motion carried.

### **Reading and Approval of 2016 Annual Meeting Minutes**

Jane Halverson moved that the minutes from the June 1, 2016 meeting be approved as distributed and printed in the 2016-17 Annual Report pages 7 and 8. Motion seconded by Dennis Hetrick. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of Kevin Bauman, Monroe County; Larry Cyrus, representing Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties; and Dawn Comeau, La Crosse School District.

The delegates from Monroe, Buffalo/Trempealeau and La Crosse Counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 7:35 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 7:37 p.m.

# **Election of Members to Board of Control**

John McMullen representing Monroe County nominated Kevin Bauman for a 3year term. Joan Cook seconded the motion. Other nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Motion carried unanimously.

Paul Servais representing Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties nominated Larry Cyrus, Cochrane-Fountain City School District for a 3-year term. Charles Walek seconded the motion. Other nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Motion carried unanimously.

Jane Halverson representing La Crosse County nominated Dawn Comeau, representing the La Crosse School District for a 3-year term. Kate Mayer seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

# Review of Annual Report/Year End Summary – Cheryl Gullicksrud

With each of our school districts continuing to focus on improving student achievement, CESA #4 strives to develop new professional development offerings for school district staff to help them reach their building and district goals. Instructional collaboration and the sharing of successful practices and resources among all the adults working with each child is very important. The *Reading Drives Achievement* professional development program addressed the literacy need for schools. Universal Design provided an educational framework for PK-12 staff to create lesson plans to meet the needs of all learners. The WISELearn Educator Portal is an online repository of highquality classroom and professional learning resources. Our new itinerant school social worker was able to assist three districts this past year. Networking sessions for District Assessment Coordinators and workshops for administrative assistants were provided to address the requests received by the Agency. Each of these new programming/service areas will be continued for the upcoming year since positive reviews were received.

CESA #4 is conducting a two day paraprofessional summit on August 28 and 29 with breakout sessions ranging from autism basics, confidentiality, serving medically fragile students, math essentials, navigating behaviors, special education and title basics, early literacy, Ipad basics, and positive behavior intervention strategies.

Youth Apprenticeship continues to grow and CESA #4 just received notice for additional grant funding to help facilitate working relationships with community partners in the manufacturing group. The consortium continues to grow as the area businesses continue to ask for assistance in developing their workforce.

# Date for 2018 Annual Convention

Kevin Bauman moved to hold the 2018 Annual Convention on Wednesday, June 6, 2018 at 7 p.m. Marlane Anderson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

David Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Mary Jo Rozmenoski is looking for two interested representatives from WASB Region 6 area who would be willing to attend September and November meetings in addition to attending the delegate assembly during the WASB Convention in Milwaukee in January. Please let Mary Jo know if you are interested.

#### Adjournment

Kevin Bauman moved to adjourn the meeting. Paul Servais seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Cheryl Gullicksrud